So, if you’re on the bleeding edge with the Fast Ring enabled, check to see if the build is ready for you to download through Windows Update. For now the company is rolling the new build out via Windows Update. According to Gabe Aul, the leader of the program, ISO builds will be coming however the Fast ring builds will be available by direct download only. To get your hands on the beta builds and test out new features in Windows 10 before the general public, read our article about how to become a Windows Insider to Test Windows 10.

Windows 10 Build 10041 New Features

According to Gabe Aul on the Blogging Windows site, this new build has several new features that, while not amazing, are interesting and will make your Windows experience much more enjoyable than Windows 7 (maybe), and Windows 8.1 most definitely.

The Start menu interface is being improved. It will have a more transparent background, no icons next to the “Places” area, and generally cleaned up and tweaked to look and function better.Virtual Desktops or Task View has been improved with new features like numbered desktops, the ability to drag and drop windows between the different desktops. In the last build you had to move Windows between desktops differently. Also, in build 9926, applications stayed open on the Taskbar, regardless of which desktop you were using. This behavior is changed in build 10041 and is a nice improvement.A Network fly-out menu now appears from the taskbar when you click the network icon. This gives you fast access to your network settings.

Photos app improvements and text input canvas are also new features in this build. The Photos app was updated in the previous build to give us an idea of how Universal Apps will look and run. This build has updated the live tile and will include integration of photos on OneDrive. The text input feature includes a handwriting panel you can use with an enhanced stylus pen.

Lock Screen experimenting Microsoft received a lot of feedback about the lock screen and it’s going to experiment with different types of messages to make using the new OS easier. I till share some tips and tricks to help you learn Windows 10. It will also see some new rotating beautiful images provided via Bin. This is one feature you’ll want to leave comment as the company can easily change this before the actual launch.Insider Hub app has also been updated to show a “Your Progress” page that will show how much feedback you’ve submitted, up-votes your feedback has received, and track the amount of missions you’ve completed.Windows Feedback App is improved to filter your feedback and suggestions easier. The “Me Too” functionality show up in search result too.

Moving Forward

I haven’t downloaded the new build yet, since it’s just not appearing for me – it looks like a lot of people are having the same issue. But when I do get it, expect more in-depth coverage of these new features and others too. Note: All of the screenshots in this article are from Microsoft via today’s post by Gabe Aul who I encourage everyone to follow. In fact, I am talking with him on Twitter about not seeing the new build to download yet. Also, if you’re testing out these Windows 10 tech preview builds, or just want to keep up with the progression of the OS, join our Windows 10 Forum which is free, and full of great members. My only real concern is when the grammar gets in the way of the understanding. I am fully aware that “getting useful stuff out” is the key criteria, and that is why I did not rag on Brian, but only mentioned this as an area where Brian has an opportunity to improve his professional image. I like the site, the format and the content. I also know that people are judged, rightly or wrongly, by the way they communicate. I would like to see this site do well, and catching some of the simple stuff that will be overlooked by a spell checker can go a long way toward polishing that professional image. Here are a couple of specific examples from the above article that might be worth looking into. these are both in the section that starts “Photos app improvements…” “updated in the previous build to five us an idea of how Universal Apps will look and run.” and a later phrase in the same paragraph “and will allow you to edit control and provides other features.” These may be just a typo and a punctuation error, both of which might have been caught by using a grammar checking feature in a word processor. My personal favorite, however, is to run my work past a friend or coworker, who is less likely to “read through” the mistake. I can catch issues in other people’s work much easier than in my own! I regret that I cannot offer to edit this site for you, and wish you the best going forward. I also promise my intent was to help, not belittle, and I will not raise the issue again. It is up to each writer to decide what their priorities are given the resources available at the time, and also give consideration to the potential impact of those decisions on the writers’ product and professional image. Thanks, and keep up the generally good work! And I also write for other sites now like gizmag.com and they have copy editors. But we’re a small operation here, and I don’t even have the luxury to have someone look an article over quickly, especially when it is one like this where speed is key. As my old editor at Byte used to say “Everyone needs an editor” Interestingly, I am also in the Fast ring, and have it installed on two Lenovo systems. Well, after checking regularly since yesterday afternoon, the update is now finally coming in. Looking forward to a great year with groovyPost and, in particular, the postings on windows 10. Might I recommend you check out the Windows 10 Forum we set up… http://windows10forum.com/ We’re just getting it started, so things are kind of slow right now, but with awesome readers like yourself and others, I think we can have an excellent forum on all things Windows 10 Thnx for the support @Ziggy — @BrianM. -S You are so right! ( When I wrote that I was probably also focusing on the need for some sustenance – e.g., “chow” ) ;-) I better keep the distinction straight, too, because my daughter’s significant other is Italian and it is beginning to look like a permanent relationship. My big challenge is they often converse in Latin, which is quite different from today’s Italian language! Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Windows 10 Technical Preview Build 10041 Available Now - 31Windows 10 Technical Preview Build 10041 Available Now - 1Windows 10 Technical Preview Build 10041 Available Now - 81Windows 10 Technical Preview Build 10041 Available Now - 66